Very Well Read

Quotations from, and the occasional reflection on, things that I have read.

I am a deliquent!

Wow, I haven’t written on here in more than a year!  It’s not that I haven’t been reading books.  I just don’t seem to have written about any of them in 2008! I think a big part of the problem was that it took me a really, really long time to read Infinite Jest and once I was done it, I felt like I needed to read other books rather than spending my time writing a summary of it, which would have undoubtedly taken me several more months.

In an attempt to make myself feel better, I’m going to list all the books I remember reading in 2008 under the (probably misguided) hope that I will eventually get around to writing posts about them.  I’m sure I’ll have forgotten some of them, so I will add to the list as I remember others.  Here, in no particular order, are the books I read in 2008:

  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
  • Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell
  • The Raw Shark Texts by Steven Hall
  • The Pleasure’s All Mine by Joan Kelly
  • What to Eat by Marion Nestle
  • The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins
  • The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman
  • Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling
  • The Structure of Scientific Revolutions by Thomas Kuhn (just started)
  • Full Frontal Feminism by Jessica Valenti
  • Why Men Earn More: The Startling Truth Behind The Pay Gap-And What Women Can Do About It by Warren Farrell

Textbooks

  • Principles of Nutrition Assessment by Rosalind Gibson
  • Research Design: Qualitative, Quantiative, and Mixed Methods Approaches by John W. Cresswell
  • Best Practices for Teaching Statistics and Research Methods in the Behavioral Sciences, edited by Dana S. Dunn, Randolph A. Smith, Bernard C. Beins
  • Philosophy And The Sciences of Exercise, Health And Sport: Critical Perspectives On Research Methods, edited by Mike McNamee
  • Brain-based Teaching For All Subjects: Patterns To Promote Learning by Madlon T. Laster. (only a bit, because it turned out to be about elementary school teaching, whereas I was expecting it to be about university teaching)
  • Conducting & Reading Research in Health & Human Performance by Baumgartner & Hensley (only partway through)
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I am a deliquent!

  1. I can’t even spell “delinquent.” Yeesh!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

